What is it like to live around Colorado?

The Pikes Peak cog railway adventure was fun despite getting stuck in the snow and not reaching the summit. It was also interesting to learn that we can see Kansas and New Mexico from Pikes Peak, sometimes even Utah and Arizona. 

Unca Don and Patsy Rose are like family to me, which makes Colorado my most visited state in the United States.

“What is it like to live around Colorado?” I wondered.
“Well, you know Dorothy! You already know Kansas!” Unca Don chirped.
“Ha! If that counts… what about the rest…”
“Do you want to see what’s around?” Unca Don asked cheekily.
“Yeah!”

The last time I asked something along this line – what type of housing should I live in? – they brought me to an RV dealer. True enough, we arrived at Manitou Cliff Dwellings.

Unca Don and Patsy Rose – my lovely American family

The Ancestral Puebloans were an ancient Native American culture that spanned the present-day Four Corners region of the United States, comprising southeastern Utah, northeastern Arizona, northwestern New Mexico, and southwestern Colorado.

Wikipedia

We stayed till the end of the day and had the entire dwelling space to ourselves. We imagined how it would feel like living in it.

Unca Don is 6’5 (2m), crawling into the dwellings must have been so uncomfortable. I could barely squeeze myself in.

The kiva (ritual space) turned out to be quite fascinating. Many terms were new to me and the whole spiritual concept was very intriguing.

This entire set of Anasazi ruin originated from McElmo Canyon, together with a museum of pottery. We walked by the pueblo that demonstrates the Taos Pueblos of New Mexico without knowing that someday, I would get to see the real architecture (to be continued…).

Explore more of the world on our Someday Guide.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started